Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree.

Advancements in science is expected to prolong the livespan of people. It is argued by some people that this is a good development, while others do not agree with this notion. Although it will make life more productive, I believe that a longer life will be expensive. On the one hand, some people believe that life would be more productive when people live for up to 100 or 200 years. In other words, people would be able to maintain a healthy life for a longer period of time which would affford them the energy and time to work for a long period of time in active service and achieve more of their goals. For instance, when people start to live for about 150 years, the general retirement age would increase and people would work for a much longer period of time. Therefore, it is anticipated that many people would be able to accomplish their goals and expectations in their lifetime. On the other hand, some people have the opinion that the cost of living would drastically increase when the life of people become lengthened by science. This is because there would be population explosion on the planet, which would increase the pressure on the available resources such as water, food, accommodation, transportation and health care. More so, there would be a rise in the population of the senior citizens and the cost of social welfare. Thus, the working population would be heavily taxed. This would ultimately cause a fall in the standard of living on earth. In conclusion, although the possibility of science prolonging human life would make our life more productive. However, it would make the cost of living exorbitant for people to live comfortable. On the balance, I am of the view that it is not a good thing.