Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

A set of mortals insist that prison sentences for longer duration is the best measure to reduce crime rate while, other reckon that crime can be reduced by some other alternative ways. However, in my opinion rehabilitation or community services are the better alternative but, i think longer prison sentences must be for the serious criminals. To begin with those who advocate with the first notion think that offenders should be punished with longer prison sentences because this phenomenon can generate fear in a criminal's mind. In other words, if a person is already aware of the intensity of punishment before committing any crime, it will discourage him from becoming a criminal. For example, in the India, the rapist and the murderer usually get life time prison sentences, resulting in making people think twice before committing any serious crime. Hence, imposing strict punishments deters people from committing crime. On the other hand, some other alternative can be taken to solve the problem. Rehabilitation service should be available for the criminals who commit crime by mistake, and realize their wrong doing. Moreover, awareness programs in prison should be held, about the consequences of the crime which, will deters them to think about crime again. For example, if any person done crime once in life and then he learned about the outcomes of a crime. He definitely avoid the path of crime. In conclusion, i would strongly say that the criminals with a negative history should be held longer in the prison. But at the same time, people who commit minor crimes and possess good behavior should be penalized in different ways, so that they can live a respectful life later and give something back to the community