Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Clothes are important accessories of human beings and some people have the opinion that they can identify an individual's tradition or behaviour by the way they dress. I think this is true to some extent, but not always the case as I will support my view with valid arguments and examples. On one hand, the way some people dress may not give a true reflection of their culture or even the person's behaviour. For instance, some working environments such as banks require their staff members to dress formally in suits and pant trousers. In as much as this style of dressing was adopted from Western culture, it is common in Africa and Asia. On the other hand, it may be possible to predict a person's tradition and way of life through their choice of clothes. For instance, during my education and time spent in the United Kingdom, I was able to identify other Nigerians by the way they dressed, even down to their ethnicity. In addition, some individual's way of life and culture can be suggested by what they wear. For example, a monk is usually dressed in a tunic. To conclude, predicting a person's attitude or background by their clothing can be subjective depending on what the situation is. Just as some people can tell a lot about a person's lifestyle and culture from their dressing, others may not. I suggest people should not make assertive conclusions about a person's persona based on how they dress.