Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

it is controversial that increasing prison sentences is an effective way to reduce the crime in a nation, while others insist that there are many better alternative solutions to decrease this epidemic. In my opinion, I agree both sides and I am going to give reasons in this essay. On the one hand, there are many benefits to giving longer prison sentences. Firstly, the criminals who committed crimes such as sexual assault, murder, drug trafficking should be put into jail for a long period. it helps innocent people and teenagers live in a safe world. Moreover, the longer offenders stay in a prison, the higher chances of them to rehabilitate and re-educate their characters. For example, Le Van Luyen, killing seven people in a family when he was 18 years old, was remanded in custody for 20 years because of his wrong-doing. this illustration deters a lawbreaker from doing the same thing as him. On the other hand, to reduce crime rates, the governments’ policies can impose many different punishments. Community services are the best opportunity for offenders to start life afresh. For instance, they can clean the environment, product goods in some factories near their prisons, and absolutely, they have been under heavy supervision. it not only allows criminals to contribute their abilities to society but also makes other people have a different perspective of them. As a result, the lawbreakers will realize that they can be a good citizen and improve their morals. However, this way does not let the dangerous and violent people do it because no one makes sure that they do not harm people to walk around the streets or try to escape the supervisions. In conclusion, I believe that there are many ways to decrease the crime rates depending on the different elements that I mentioned above.