Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

In this day and age, it is irrefutable to say that crime plays a pivotal role in affecting nation's overall growth. To a certain extent, I agree that in order to cut illegal acts, authorities should punish criminals with longer prison sentences. However, I also believe that there are other better ways to curtail unlawful acts. On the one hand, there are numerous reasons why we should be in favour on longer prison sentences. First and foremost, it would keep dangerous criminals out of our society for a longer period of time and hence, would reduce unlawful acts. Secondly, it would send a clear message to other offenders that the law has become stricter and would not hesitate in punishing other criminals. To cite an example, in the UK, illegal acts reduced by 15% in the year 2009 when the court granted life sentences as per the gravity of the crime. On the other hand, there are plentiful evidences that there are various other ways to decrease illegal acts. Providing jobs for teenage offenders so that they steal and pickpocket. Banning consumption of alcohol can also help us in our cause as liquor is found to be the primary reason for aggression and rage among people. To cite an example, 30% of criminal incidents happen every year because of consumption of liquor as per police data. To sum up, some people argue that capital punishment and extended sentences are the solution, I am of the opinion that there are other ways too that are more effective. I suggest there should be psychological treatment and interactive sessions for criminals to understand the root cause of the illegal acts. It is also expected that the government should make guidelines to educate people about the erstwhile suggestion.