Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however believe that there are better alternative ways to reducing crime.

There is a widespread misconception that if the duration of the prison sentences is augmented, the crime rate can be controlled. However, there are others who challenge the above view and say that, there are various other ways to contain the crime rate in the society. I share my firm opinion with the latter. This essay will share both the views and support my arguments. On one hand, there is no solid determination in controlling the crime rate besides imprisoning people. For example, the countries that strictly follow communist policies are afraid that, if there is an uprising movement commenced by the people against their government, it would unseat their iron fist control over their territorial sovereignty. Owing to this, their judiciary is forced to hand them death sentences or served them long duration of prison sentences, without assessing the reasons behind the uprising movement by the people. If one deeply perceives such judgements, it makes no benefit to contain the crime rate, rather than provoking the people. Thus, the ill-fated judiciary delivers the travesty of justice. On the other hand, there are countries who are concerned about bringing down the crime rate by building a better society. For example, the countries in the Nordic region have begun to close their empty prisons, because people have not committed any crimes since 3 decades. They have achieved this success by providing proper mental and psychological support to the people right from the adolescent age in schools. It is easier to control the misdemeanour by nipping in the bud, rather than allowing it to grow wild. Moreover, these countries have placed tight controls on their population density. Therefore, lesser the number of people will result in lesser the number of crime rates. To recapitulate, crime rate cannot be resisted just by extending the prison punishments. No-one commit crimes voluntarily, only their vulnerabilities forces them to lose their senses and push them to commit crimes. Hence, the society should be rebuilt in such a way that one’s vulnerabilities should be addressed in order to convert a dystopian society into a society of utopia.