Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

There is no exaggeration in saying that crimes are rife among people. Although a group of masses holds an opinion that extending penalty of imprisonment can assist to alleviate misdeeds, opponents contemplate that wide range of other approaches will be advantageous. However, I will stick to later view point. This essay will consider both notions followed by concrete conclusion. To embark with, there are multifarious reasons why former approach is conducive. First and foremost, various offenses require chastisement as heinous crimes are not pardonable. In support to this, mortals fulminate on the roads so that the rapists receive punishment for their nefarious activities, which provide justice to victims. Another reason that springs in my mind is that it will set precedent for other criminals since regulations seldom bother them. Consequently, punishment is an apropos way to plunge transgression. On the flip side, I would advocate those who contend that other measures are more beneficial. Primarily, accountability to impart knowledge about prison experience ought to be given to rehabilitate offenders which would discourage them to commit any illegal act as a result crime will not burgeon. Furthermore, Regime should execute campaigns to raise awareness regarding dire consequences of crimes as numerous individuals are unaware of this, which would fruitful for mankind. In the light of above discussion, both aforementioned views can bring plethora of benefits but as my perception several other measures should be applied in order to mitigate crimes so that people live without any fear and with harmony on this earth.