Many advertisements today target children. Discuss your view.

Ad agencies nowadays ensure that their ad films reach the younger generation. This in turn earns a big profit for their sponsors. In my opinion, it is a grave mistake since it may end up in promoting wrong products and divert children to pick up bad habits. Any product, may it be good or bad, can be considered a success if children come to know about it. Consider a junk food is being promoted through a television ad, attracting children. Kids will buy it for the taste and also among their friends which in turn will increase the sales of the junk food. Such eating habits may pose many health hazards. When kids grow up with such kind of food habits, their society will become adaptable to junk food and in turn show up that it is acceptable to the future generation. A survey taken on the potato chips states that 70% of the adults have been eating it right from their childhood. Children getting influenced by advertisements inhibit many bad habits other than adapting to junk food. For example, a play station brand being advertised and was successful among children. If parents buy it since their kids keep pestering them, kids pick up the habit of being adamant about what they need throughout their lives. If parents do not buy it for them, knowing that would result in an addiction, they get depressed and grow up to be arrogant. Both the ways affect the moral values which has to be inculcated in children. A recent research proves this fact by stating that with the introduction of play station over the years, depression has increased by 80% among children. I would like to conclude by stating that advertisements targeting kids have to be banned so that only the generation which can distinguish between good and bad are aware of any product and the moral standards of the society are kept in place.