Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe that there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Although it is sometimes thought that the rate of crime should be reduced by imprisoning criminals for a long duration, other people believe that the focus should be on beneficial ways to solve it. In my opinion, I consider that other effective ways such as therapist offenders and giving them resources to learn new skills are far more beneficial than confining them to a prison cell. One the one hand, some people think that other different structure has significant effects on committing less infraction and I agree. Firstly, it is believed that criminal behaviour is a mindset that could be changed with getting help by a therapist which, consequently, their overview to the life will be changed in the long run. For example, children who live in deprived area do not have any idea about the other lifestyles except poverty, moreover, they are more likely to turn to the violation. Some research findings confirm that changing their mindset could contribute them to revolutionize their lifestyle that would have a beneficial effect on reducing the rate case. Secondly, offenders should be trainee to learn new skills and get official certificates. Since having an official certificate has a vital role to be hired, they will have greater job opportunities which, consequently, reducing the misdeed rate. On the other hand, it is often believed that criminals locked away and society effectively protects. First of all, It is maintained that it keeps criminals off the streets and prevents them re-offending so often. In this way, criminals cannot persuade others to commit a crime; therefore, The number of people who turning to breach is reduced. Secondly, this phenomenon can generate fear in a criminal’s mind. In other words, if a person is already aware of the intensity of punishment before committing any offence, it will discourage him from becoming a criminal. For example, in the UAE, the rapist and the murderer usually get lifetime prison sentences, resulting in making individuals think twice before committing any serious felony. Hence, imposing strict punishment deters people from committing crime. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I think that criminals stand a better chance to benefit from a better life if they change their mindset and learn new skills to change their lifestyle.