Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal for driving cars or riding motorbikes.

Some individuals believe raising the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes is the most effective method for enhancing road safety. While I accept that this policy is good to some extent, I believe it is not the best because there are much better to reduce traffic accidents. It might be a good idea to increase the minimum age required for driving because of some reasons. Firstly, since younger people are usually less mature and less responsible with their manners, they might be unaware of the importance of following the rules. Thus, it is reasonable to ban them from travelling on the street to prevent them from breaking the laws and causing accidents. Secondly, as older people are more experienced, they can react quickly to handle dangerous situations on the road, while younger ones might not be able. To illustrate, if the brakes of a car suddenly stop working, a young driver might panic, and accidents are more likely to occur. However, I would argue that there are much better methods of ensuring road safety. This first one is to have stricter punishments for driving offenders. For instance, people breaking traffic rules should be required to pay huge fines or be banned permanently from commuting on the street. This makes commuters more likely to respect the law, and traffic accidents can be limited. Another solution is to encourage people to use public transport rather than private vehicles. This can be done by reducing the price and increasing the frequency of buses and tubes to make it more convenient for users. In conclusion, I believe apart from increasing the legal age for driving, there are more effective ways to make sure that travelling on the street is safe for everyone.