Some people think that the best way to improve safety is by reducing the maximum speed limits on vehicles others think there are other better ways.

Recently, there has been a debate on how to enhance road safety. While some people believe that the best method is by decreasing the maximum speed limits on vehicles, other people, including me, believe that there are other efficient methods to tackle road safety issues. The rationale for each view will be discussed. Some people believe that the best approach to boost road safety is by reducing the maximum limits on vehicles because this method will minimize the death rates in the society. Most individuals go overboard when driving and are uncontrollable and this can lead to accidents. In most cases, these victims are terribly injured or die in the process. A recent report, giving by the Federal Road Safety Corp in Nigeria, shows that 65% of the road accidents is as a result of over speeding. On the other hand, other people, of which category I belong to, believe that there are more effective methods to refine road safety. One of such ways is by ensuring the road users obey traffic rules. A policy should be implemented to make sure traffic rules are obeyed whoever defaults should penalized and made to pay a huge fine, that way lives are more secured. Another way of revamping road safety is by certifying the drivers are well trained and have authentic license to prove. Drivers should be trained thoroughly before been issued a license. A research carried out by John Donald, the owner of Top Notch Driving School in Germany, shows that 75% of people involved in automobile crashes do not have a license. In conclusion, some people believe that decreasing the maximum speed limits is the best way to improve road safety as it will reduce death rate, while I maintain that adhering to traffic rules and obtaining a driver’s license are better methods to refine road safety.