Some people think that success is the best measure for intelligence, while others think that intelligence can be measured in other ways. What is your opinion?

People have always tried to measure wisdom by different means. While some state that success is a synonym of intelligence, others express that it can be quantified by other means. This essay conveys that whereas success is an ambiguous term in order to calculate smartness, our personal capacities are a good way to measure this variable. Intelligence cannot by quantified in terms of success because the latter is ambiguous. Although modern society measures how successful people are in terms of fame or money, current research has shown that the term is more related to a person´s values and subjectivity. For example, for somebody raising a family might mean to be successful. For others to earn a lot of money. As a result of the personal elements that define success, this term cannot measure how intelligent we are. How smart people are can be measured in terms of what they are good at. Howard A. Gardner developed the Multiple Intelligences Theory. Although there are different intelligences, he argues that the main ones are seven: intrapersonal, interpersonal, kinesthetic, musical, moral, linguistic and mathematical. Thus, smartness could be quantified by how good we are in these different kinds of variables. To illustrate, a wise person could be someone that knows how to relate efficiently with others or how to reflect on his or her innermost wishes and dreams. Smart individuals are also those that are good in sports, ethics, languages and mathematics. By referring to the individual abilities of citizens, the concept of intelligence applies to everybody and not to a select few. Smartness can be calculated in various manners. Success is not an indicator of intelligence due to the fact that it means different things for people. Wisdom is best measured by the personal abilities each individual has.