Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their own countries. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to change negative attitudes?

Although international tourism is one of the largest booming industries, some people consider this detrimental to host nations. The main reason for this is cultural differences and to remedy this problem collaborative efforts of an individual and the government are required. To begin with, the difference in cultural and traditional values of the countries is the most crucial factor responsible for the opposition foreign tourism. Many countries having traditional cultures such as India, Pakistan, Arabian, provide immense importance to their cultural values and beliefs. As a result, they often expect tourists to follow the same and any violation leads to conflicts. A recently reported incident in Mumbai in which two foreign tourists faced criticism of locals for not wearing traditional attire while entering Sidhi temple, serves the best example for describing the difference in cultural norms. Thus, the fear of the damage that foreign visitors can cause makes the people outraged towards their entry. To combat this issue a collective effort is needed. Primarily, before visiting any country, one should learn and understand the cultural and traditional norms of that country. It is quintessential for the visitors to respect the culture of the host countries and act according to them. Also, local people should also treat the visitors as their guests and should guide them rules appropriately instead of showing criticism. Secondly, the authorities and tourist associations should also provide the complete guidelines to the visitors in the form of brochures, websites or templates. In conclusion, despite the surge in the rate of tourism, it is not considered a good trend owing to the difference in ethnic values. To change this perspective, tourists should respect foreign cultures and customs when they are abroad and the governments of host nations should also take appropriate actions to make visitors comfortable.