Money is important in most people’s lives. However, some people think it is more important than other things. What do you feel are the right uses of money? What other factors are important for a good life?

People hold different views on the role that money can play in achieving a happy and successful life. While it seems crucial to realize the right uses of money, I admit that there are other important factors that can bring happiness to individuals. On the one hand, people pursue different tasks to make a living; however, it is necessary that the money earned be spent wisely. First and foremost, money is primarily expected to bring peace and comfort to a family by providing basic needs including, but not limited to, food, shelter, and clothing. Also, financially successful families find it easier to enjoy travelling and planning recreational activities that can fill their time with rapture. Therefore, although a judicious amount of money is essential, it is also true that families should consider financial planning. A happy life, however, can be defined in many other ways. Take, for example, an affluent family who decides to give away their dream house or to donate to charity. Not only can such philanthropic acts contribute to societal welfare of the poor, it can also create a sense of satisfaction in the donor. Also, to many, a good life is replete with academic achievements. Receiving a degree or furthering education in a well-famed institution is more intellectually rewarding than winning a prize. Ultimately, a good life can come with a healthy balance between work commitments and social life. In summary, while I completely agree that money is vital to the well-being of every human being, material possessions should not be viewed as the determining factors in buying happiness.