Some people think that technology has made man more social, while others think people have become less social.

There have been a rise in the use of technology to communicate today. Some people hold the view that modern technological advancements have improved interactions, but to others, it is an idea that is not welcome because of the its negative effects on their social life. Personally, I think that it makes man less social. On the one hand, some people use mobile phones, computers and the internet to make friends and communicate regularly. Through phone calls and the use of social media applications such as Facebook, Telegram and Instagram, people can have live chats and video calls with their friends and like minds and interact on a regular basis. This shows the positive effect of technology on socialization. However, other people argue that technology has negatively impacted on their relationship with their family members as well as people in their immediate environment. This arises owing to the huge amount of time spent on electronic devices rather than on face-to-face interactions with people in their close proximity like siblings, parents and neighbours. For instance, some teenagers in technologically advanced countries spend most of their time indoors, listening to music, watching movies and surfing the internet and they have less social life. As a result, technology has made people less social and I agree with this view. In conclusion, although some people think that technology has made humans more social, I believe that it takes away the time people need to socialise, which has negative effects on their relationships. Efforts geared towards educating people of this view should be encouraged.