Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. with this statement?

Although e-mails and instant messengers have become essential in our communications nowadays and, probably, are used in more than 90% of times, physical letters are still paramount in certain areas of life. I completely disagree with this statement and will provide below two arguments to support my view. Government agencies and corporations still tend to prefer exchanging physical letters when the matter discussed is of high importance. Indeed, legal documents, acquisition agreements or memorandums of understanding are normally send by a courier post and accompanied by a letter. Furthermore, when it comes to commercial arguments between companies, it may be hard to defend your position if no good evidence is available. For instance, a party that provides a letter with a blue-ink signature in the court of law would have stronger positions in supporting their arguments. Human feel more appreciated if they receive a handwritten letter, and no e-card ever gives us as many positive emotions. Luxurious restaurants, hotels and other service providers are perfectly aware of it and try to add even more value to their services by sending us follow up letters signed, in many instances, by managing directors. Furthermore, writing letters is considered a beautiful tradition in many families. For instance, people try to keep intimacy or prove their love by sending seasonal letters and cards during Christmas, St. Valentine’s day, Thanksgiving day etc. I personally adore these traditions and believe, that society needs them now more than ever, as we are moving towards less humane virtual world. To conclude, while the modern ways of communications allow us to achieve more efficiency and productivity both in work and personal life, we shouldn’t abandon letters. Not only corporate world still needs physical evidence of their agreements with counterparties, but also people benefit from receiving cards filled with positive emotions.