Some people think that studying from the past teaches us nothing about today’s life. Others argue that the history is a value source of information.

Many suppose that it is not worth studying history because of its uselessness, others think that the past plays an important role in providing knowledge for humans. In my opinion, I support the second claim due to many values it can bring to us. To begin with, there are several reasons why history is no longer relevant for people to study. The first one is that history already happened, which we could not change or modify. For instance, students often have to memorise events, numbers and names related to thousands of years ago. They therefore could gain nothing which is suitable to apply in today’s world. Another reason is that when people put effort into studying those outdated things, they would have less time to prepare for future plans. While the past is outside of their controls, future is what individuals need to focus on in order to make it occur in a better way. Thus, it seems to be a waste of time to learn history. However, I believe the importance of learning from the past cannot be denied. Firstly, looking back into it allows us to have better understanding of our mistakes so that we can avoid making those errors later on. If people do not know why they did it wrong and what aspects need to be improved, they will more likely to make same mistakes right next time when they face it. Secondly, the valuable experience and wisdom of ancestors give us priceless lessons which never stop being true even in this modern world. For example, we learned from Thomas Edison, one of the greatest inventors ever is that hard work and persistence are two most crucial factors leading to success. He had conducted thousands of experiments failed in many years before creating the first electronic light bulb, which positively did change the whole world. In conclusion, while some individuals consider studying history do not provide us with any useful knowledge, I would argue that it is definitely a precious source of information.