Some people think that history has little or nothing to tell us but some people think that studying the past history can help us understand the present better.

The importance of history study is quite debatable topic. Some people tend to study the past while some don't tend understand it. In the next passages we discuss both the views in detail and argue why knowing about our heritage is superior. Firstly, let us discuss about why learning about how we were brought up is not essential in today's world, which is running on sciences, engineering and business and there is no need to study about the hardships that our ancestors had gone through. Why does reading our past history is avoided? It is because they will not help us to earn a fortune. For example, if I know that during Krishna Devaraya realm diamonds were sold as if they were nuts, it won't help me to earn money and lead a living. On the contrary, learning about the difficulties faced and the achievements they have achieved lets us learn the origin of the culture, freedom and even the value of money. For instance, if we know the past of our own family and how hard they have worked to earn their living and the mistakes they have done to place us in a comfortable position, we will come to know the value of that position and interestingly it will also help us not to make the same mistakes which were done by them. To add to it, here is another example. If an individual completely knows the struggle of independence of India, he/she will not complain about the path followed by Gandhi to earn it but hail it. Everything we learn from the past helps us not to commit the same mistakes, even in science, engineering and business and also it helps us to value the lives we are living and strive for the excellence to a greater extent.