Some people think that students who achieve the best academic results should be rewarded. Others believe it is more important to reward students who show improvement.

Some people argue that universities should support students who achieve high goals in research, whilst others say that the improvement ought to be rewarded. I think that both points of view are valid and bring benefit for universities. First of all, the university is a place when new knowledge is acquired by students. Research is a paramount way to achieve new knowledge, so it must be promoted and supported by the higher school. Furthermore, research is done not only by the academic staff but also by students who are passionate about science. By providing such students with incentives (stipends, grants), university enhances its own ability to carry out research. For example, plenty of universities in Europe have research institutes instead of faculties, and students are involved in the scientific practice sinse the first term. On the other hand, university prepares people to start a job or career by giving them essential information via the process of education. Some people do not have problems understanding new information, while others do. Those who need an improvement should be encouraged because without the improvement they are likely to not attain their personal aims like a start of new job. It could also affect university' s prestige. Hence, the improvement in grades must be promoted. For instance, Einstein had problems in school. Had he not been inspired to remedy the situation by his teacher, he would not have become the greatest physicist in the world. In conclusion, I believe that universities should endorse not only students participation in research but also those who show the enhancement of educational abilities. Such practice will be beneficial for university.