Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

Seldom, think that imposing heavy penalties for disobedience of traffic laws, play a vital role in the reduction of fatal situations on the roads. Whereas, others believe that providing the required facilities would improve road security. In my view, levying heavy penalties for breaking traffic guidelines and the provision of better roads and facilities for avoiding unnecessary occasions both are equally important. Although, the government has imposed penalties for breaking road safety laws. Many people take it 'at easy'. The carefree attitude of not losing anything big is the thought behind such breakages. If the government, imposes huge fines for careless drivers, then the situation might change. For instance, recently Mumbai city traffic governing body has imposed heavy penalties of Rs. 25000/- for parking in "no parking" specified areas. Also, the fines of jumping signals have been increased, to a great extent from Rs. 250/- to 1500/-. These, steps by the government has created a fear of paying heavy fine for careless mistakes. The civilians have hence, become more responsible after that. On the other hand, the governing body is equally responsible to provide better infrastructure for avoiding accidents. If necessary steps are taken for repairs, then the public will have a sense of appreciation for the law. By keeping this in mind, the highways and connecting roads should be maintained from time to time for safety purposes. To quote an instance, the highway tolls are collected for the maintenance of highways. To conclude, regulations and rules are necessary and go hand in hand with effective facilities for avoiding unexpected crashes.