Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Accidents due to traffic are increasing day by day. While many people believe that rigid punishments can help to reduce accidents on road, others tend to prefer another way to improve the safety on road. This essay will discuss how strict punishments can help people to stop violating the rules but why imposing fines and penalties is the more efficient and simple way. Nowadays, drivers are scared of strict punishments. A driver becomes more conscious while driving if he is afraid of the consequence that one will have to bear if he breaks the law. For example, traffic authorities imposed 20 years of imprisonment reduced the road offences by 70%. So, rigid punishments can help people to be more conscious which ultimately reduce accidents. However, many disagree and feel that imposing high fines and penalties can be a great and efficient solution. People will start following the rules and take precautions if they are concerned about not wasting money. For instance, this list of fines in new traffic rules decreased the number of accidents and other offence. So, high fines and penalties can result in both simple and rigid way at the same time. To conclude, strict punishments are not the only way. This essay discussed how rigid punishments are helpful but how another way can help more efficiently. In my opinion, high fines and penalties is a good solution.