Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

Strict penalties for bad drivers are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Even though, there are other solutions would be more effective in improving road safety, this will not replace the strict penalties in preventing road accidents. Nowadays, the number of road accidents has been increased, the reason for this are many, such as; drunk while driving, bad driving attitude and lack of driving experience. One of the worst subjects on the road is a drunk driver, this kind of driver may cause terrible damage to the other people, because they are driving in an uncontrollable way. Furthermore, there is a kind of a driver that has lack of driving experience, however, he or she is less dangerous because the driver is still in control. Although, there are other solutions instead of the strict penalties, such as; encouraging the drivers to not drive while they are drunk, improve propaganda, but the number of road accidents was still high. This is because of a bad behaviour of the drivers have been developed for a very long time, hence, the behaviour is like a disease without a cure. Finally, when there are no hopes with the alternative solutions, the drivers need the strict penalties to remind them of taking more responsibility when they are driving.