Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

These days, we visualize large number of traffic accidents. These accidents sometimes ruin the complete family or may leave a person nearly dead or paralyzed for rest of the life. It is commonly believed by many that there should be strict punishments for traffic rule offenders while some other believe that there are many other effective measures that could supervise the road safety. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and present my own opinion. It is undeniable that despite of several warning messages and awareness programs, these traffic rule offenders do not follow the traffic laws. There should be hard punishment such as withholding their licence or few days of imprisonment for those who do not obey the traffic rules. Such punishments would be a lesson to others so that they do no imitate the such offences. Once the rule-breakers are punished badly by the law-enforcing agencies they would never try to repeat those offences. Hence, it will improve road safety to some extent. On the other side, some other precausive measures by the government could be an effective solution to mitigate road accidents. Firstly and fore-mostly, there should be better infrastructure in the form of well-maintained roads, fixed traffic light signals and proper sign boards. Along with that awareness programs that demonstrate the after-accident life experience of real road accident victims, the benefits of using safety gadgets and following road rules could work beneficially to improve road safety. In my opinion, we could not force anybody to abide by the rules, it mostly comes by self-consciousness and this could be brought through awareness programs instead of strict punishments. I believe that taking precausive actions such as well-constructed roads, well-defined traffic rules and better infrastructure would be much superior that deciding strict punishments for rule-breakers. To conclude, traffic rule offenders could be found everywhere around the globe. Taking strict action against them could be solution but not only. In my opinion, there are various other effective ways to control road accidents and improve road safety including awareness programs and well-designed infrastructure.