Question Some people think that strict punishment for driving offences are key to reducing traffic accident. Others however believe that other measures would improve road safety.

Although, The rise and fall to traffic accidents is said to be dependent on compliance and non-compliance to traffic rules and regulations. Some proponents believe that strict penalties for driving offences will reduce traffic accidents. However, Others believe that other measures especially from government will go a long way in keeping people safe. Both arguments have valid points and I will discuss them now. on the one hand, every rebellion to the existing traffic rules attracts penalty. For instance failure to wear the seatbelt while driving attracts fine of 10000 Naira in Nigeria. In addition, speeding above the recommended speed limit on that particular road is dangerous for the driver and populace in that environment. Disobedience to this law attracts financial penalty or outright ban from driving for one year. Lastly, failure to recognise hazards on the roads can as well result in road traffic accidents. Therefore, it is highly imperative for the driver to take note of this or pay for the consequences. on the other hand, government should do the needful to ensure road safety. At first, traffic rules and regulations should be included in our secondary school curriculum. This is to educate the young ones early about the laws of driving and consequences that follow suit. Additionally, government should ensure adequate construction and maintenance of road because bad road is one of the contributing factor to road traffic accidents. Lastly, it is the responsibility of the government to install speed cameras on the road in order to register any violator. Reports have it for example that developed countries have low record of road traffic accidents, unlike developing nations that have high record. This is due to absence of speed cameras on the road in the third world countries. In conclusion, in my opinion, i think strict punishment to traffic offenders is not enough, government should also ensure other factors that contribute to traffic accident are taken care of.