some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others belive that children learn teamwork.

While some argue that children are taught to be competitive by playing sports, others are of the opinion that children gain an important life skill, that is, team work. I am of the opinion that while competition is something that is generated while playing sports, there is no better way to teach children how to work in teams. Competition is undoubtedly an unpleasant emotion that is generated while playing a sport. But like any negative emotion, it can be used to our advantage. Similarly, children should be taught to deal with competition in a healthy way and use it to perform better without creating a negative environment for the opposition. Nevertheless, sports isn’t the only activity that surfaces feelings of competition among children. Academics, or any form of extracurricular can give rise to a competitive nature. The other side of the coin is the biggest advantage of sports: team work. Learning how to work with other people, dealing with their weaknesses and strengths, and working towards growing as a group are a few of many assets that children can gain at a very early age when they take part in sports. When this skill gets imbibed in the young minds, they grow up to be highly efficient adults. Adding to that, very few activities have this positive effect. To sum up, even though there are downsides to being competitive, too much would be lost if children were to stop playing sports because of this reason. Not only would children be unable to deal with competition in a constructive way, they wouldn’t either be capable of working with people as a team.