Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individual and society.

Social networking sites have been highlighted as an emerging issue, capturing significant public attention. Given the suggestion emphasizing negative implications, I partially agree. On the one hand, it is true that the usage of social networks could be fraught with many pitfalls. First, since users can customize their profiles on social networks based on their personal preferences, these fake profiles could be purposed for criminal purposes, posing as serious safety threats to coerced individuals. For example, dating app users, especially young ones could fall prey to sexual predators, masquerading as matching partners through fake profiles and portrait display images, thereby making victims susceptible to sexual battery or even homicide. Second, by using social network sites, users could contact, interact and intermingle with many other peers of different nationalities and cultures. This means that people’s vulnerability to the exposure and indoctrination to extremist beliefs and fundamentalist religions could ensue, increasing affected users’s tendencies to commit terrorism acts, doing serious harm to societies. On the other hand, social sites could have many benefits to justify the downsides. First, using online social networks is one of the most efficient and inexpensive ways to communicate and interact with others. Before the appearance of social websites, delivering a message from one location to another would require physical travels, costing unnecessary time, effort and money. From the societal perspective, due to social networking’s characteristic of wireless connection, many government and private funded educational programmes with qualified lecturers have been featured into many prevalent social networks such as Facebook and Instagram. Subsequently, individuals, especially those with little accessibility to educational institutions could be equipped with academic and practical knowledge and occupational skills for specific job specifications, making their increased employment prospects an inevitable product, ensuring the betterment of educated workforce for societies. In conclusion, I believe that social networks have both advantages and disadvantages. Additionally, it is individuals’ responsibility to manage the proper usage for their best interests.