Some people say that shops should sell food products that are made in the local areas whenever possible rather than are imported from other countries.

Marketing international products rather than local products is controversial. Some people claim that the supermarkets must sell local food products whenever possible rather than imported foods. I completely agree with this statement, because local growers need to be supported and they can always be trusted. Firstly, by purchasing local foods, consumers appreciate the efforts of the native farmers or producers. In addition, the amount spent on these products will directly impact the financial status of the native growers. Indeed, at times their entire family is dependent on this money. Moreover, these local producers sell the products based on basic tax, which do not include international transportation taxes. For instance, strawberries are not grown in certain tropical countries, so it is quite expensive in such places, as they need to be imported. Overall, local food producers can flourish if their products are purchased instead of imported products. Secondly, locally grown foods can be blindly trusted because they can be verified by the consumers. Indeed, food products must be consumed cautiously as it can impact the overall health. Moreover, many international products assure to benefit the people in terms of nutrition. Nevertheless, it applies to the native people in their country. Therefore, it is difficult to trust these products in terms of quality and nutrition. For example, Nestle Maggi noodles were banned in some countries, as it was tested to contain excessive amounts of lead. In conclusion, by consuming local food products native farmers will get the financial benefit. Also, these locally grown foods can be trusted. However, international foods are expensive and may not benefit local people in terms of health.