Some people think that secondary or high school students should be taught how to use money management as it is an important life skill.

In the modern world, achieving a high quality of life does not seem possible without financial literacy. It has proven to be one of the most vital skills for living a secure life amidst a plethora of economic opportunities and ever growing consumerism. It is therefore considered by many that money management should be learnt as early on as in high school, which I completely agree with. Not only does personal finance education provide students with an immediate plan for the future, but it also fosters the development of solid financial habits. First, having been taught the fundamentals of budgeting, saving, debt and investing, students are able to make smart financial decisions, whether they continue studying or start work. For instance, a student who aspires to complete a degree while not being able to afford it, can learn about various ways to pay for colleges, begin to put money aside and finally land with a viable solution. In addition, financial literacy means becoming aware of the dangers of credit cards and high interest rates, which is critical when taking out a loan. Overall, students who gain financial awareness are highly likely to set clear goals and make financial progress upon leaving school. Second, high school students gradually form a careful attitude towards money, managing their personal finances more wisely later in life. To illustrate, a course in money management forces students to analyze their spendings, create budgets as well as an emergency fund, which inevitably leads to a thorough understanding of their financial situation. As a result, students ensure they reduce financial pressure and avoid painful consequences in the future. In conclusion, financial education plays a major role in peoples' lives, often meaning the difference between prosperity and poverty. Considering the importance of financial issues, it is believed that finance education belongs in high schools. The sooner children start caring about their personal finance, the more chances they have to succeed as adults.