Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together.

Schools have students from different backgrounds with different abilities and capabilities. It is argued by many individuals that mixed-ability classes are favourable for the students, while others are of a view that students should be selected based on their academic abilities. I believe that admission to a class must be funded on scholarly capability. Certainly, having a mixed group of students with different talents can be beneficial for student’s development. Students with various skills sitting together can learn a great deal from one another. For instance, a student who is good at science but does not perform well in soccer can learn from his peer who knows how to play the game well. Moreover, having a mixed ability class help children learn about others and accept difference. As a result, they become more understandable and patience. In spite of the advantages discussed above, a classroom full of students with distinct talents can make it difficult for the teacher to teach effectively. Having students with similar abilities and the same academic capabilities facilitates effective teaching. Teachers can control their students more conveniently and easily. Specifically, the whole classroom is at the same level of capacity and in turn, teachers can use the same methodologies for them all. Furthermore, students who have the same academic ability tend to understand one another better and can help each other during each season. To conclude, mixed-ability classes can be beneficial for the student's all-round development. However, I believe that streaming students according to their academic ability is better for both students and teachers for effecting learning.