Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

It is often said that it should be a discrimination among students for their mental agility while selecting by schools. Admittedly, it could increase the success level of children in some classes nevertheless, in my opinion, mixed classes would be more practical not only from the knowledge aspect but also from the students' psychological conditions. Those who support the idea of organising schools at the same academic level, bring some reasonable views. Initially, it would make easier for teachers to prepare materials or tools to teaching. For instance, teachers can provide students the same materials and methods, which not squander teachers’ times. In addition, in a class which consists of students with weaker knowledge level, students would not feel uncomfortable and unmotivated which led to rise in their academic level. By contrary, I would take side with those who support mixing ability classes. There are several reasons why different academic ability brings myriad of good views. Firstly, by mixing different students, there is an opportunity to learn something by interacting and communicating. For example, a literature student can communicate with mathematics student and sharing his or her knowledge, which taking them into advance levels in a variety of subjects. Secondly, competition and challenge play a vital role for many students. If there were a competition between students in the class, students would be more engaged with lessons. Furthermore, this would be an incentive for weaker students for trying to achieve more as their classmates. Indeed, either linguistic students or mathematics students could improve themselves as many subjects as they like. In conclusion, by grouping students as the same-ability will do more harm than good. Mixed-ability should be promoted, by leading the academic into high degree.