Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, while others disagree.

The number of public libraries is decreasing nowadays. The government states that a huge amount of money is required to maintain public libraries and their facilities while there are only a few people who take advantage of these facilities. City dwellers also think that the existence of those libraries is no longer necessary. In this essay, I shall give two points of views regarding the importance of public libraries and my personal opinion about it. On the one hand, some people feel uncomfortable to read at public libraries. First, it is because most of those places are boring. For example, people have to be quiet in the room and they are not allowed to bring food and beverages. In fact, some people feel they can concentrate more if they hear light music and drink a cup of coffee while reading their books. This is why modern cafes are preferable for city dwellers. Second, the book collections in public libraries are usually not up to date while people can get new books easily from local bookstores or from internet sources. For example, people can purchase new books from Amazon, either the electronic or the printed versions. On the other hand, not all people can afford to purchase books, access the internet, and go to the modern cafes. For example, there are some remote areas in Indonesia, where it is hard to get internet access there. Villagers in those areas have low income and low standard of living. Schools are located far away from their living places. Thus, I believe it is suitable to build public libraries in this kind of places. So much underage children have to work outdoors to support their family, hence, introducing reading as a hobby to them can be beneficial so that they can escape and get lost from their tiring daily routine. Villagers can just chill and relax to read some books at public libraries. In conclusion, the importance of public libraries depends on where they are located. I personally believe that city dwellers no longer need them while villagers find them useful.