Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is irrefutably true that, these days, most companies are seeking different approaches, such as sponsoring sports events, to increase their sales. While some individuals opine that this approach is actually an effective marketing tool for the companies to promote their products, others believe that it has some major drawbacks. I bolster the former view and think that funding sports events is not only promoting companies primarily, but also providing a platform for all sports advocates and passionate players. On the one hand, sports sponsorship is widely considered a lucrative industry, and there are several benefits associated with this marketing scheme. Firstly, it provides a golden opportunity for companies to promote their products within a large community more comprehensively, making a significant contribution to boosting the sales rates of companies. For example, BMW, which was the main sponsor of the last world cup, invested billions of dollars for sponsoring the football matches reached a record high in its sales after the seasons, according to the International Sports Journal. Secondly, when a company hits its sales target, their employees would also enjoy a better income through incentive programmes such as target related payments, leading to increased productivity. Furthermore, sports sponsorship may even contribute to the development of sports infrastructures in other countries, through the construction of sports stadiums especially in low-income countries, with the money raised from this advertising scheme. Finally, sponsoring sports events makes a major contribution to the global peace and reduced tension between countries as different nations participate in the events in a peaceful common platform.