Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Other think that face-to-face interaction is essential.

These days an innumerable number of individuals are using social websites to make new friends, and it is considered a useful thing by some people. However, there are others who think that it will be much better to make new friends by one in one chat. This essay shall analyze both views. I, personally side with the former view. Those who considered making new friends by using social sites like Facebook and Instagram is a useful thing give their reasons as follows. From online websites, it is very easy for a user to send a friend request to anyone, and one can understand, and learn the culture of people from different nations. For instance, one of my friends has made many new friends from different countries by using social platforms, and he has learned many different languages by just talking to them. On the other hand, those who believe individuals must make friends by meeting them give their views as follows. Making new friends by meeting them physically gives a chance to understand the nature of people. By face to face chat one can know the good and bad habits of that particular person, and also makes the friendship bond more stronger. For example, the survey has showed that making new friends by person-to-person chat is more reliable and trustworthy. I personally prefer making new friends by chatting with them on social networking sites because I am the kind of person who is very shy and cannot speak in front of people. Therefore, making new friends from online sources is for those who find it difficult in talking to a person with eye to eye contact. In conclusion, making new friends in both ways has its benefits. I reiterate that making online friendships is easier for a person who is shy and cannot express his feelings in face-to-face chat.