Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since the internet has widely replaced their function.

With the development of information technology, electronic books have become the dominant sources of obtaining knowledge. People are able to look up references online with ease, unlike traditional libraries where it takes long time to retrieve information. Therefore, people are arguing that it is unnecessary to maintain public libraries; however, I believe that public libraries should be kept, as the functions of traditional libraries are irreplaceable. It has to be admitted that the Internet has changed the way people store and retrieve information. Modern information storage systems have the capacity to accommodate almost all the books of the world in digital formats, which reduces the pressure of public libraries whose space for book storage is limited. In addition, it is less time-consuming for people to obtain bibliographies online, compared with libraries. For example, when a student is looking for an academic book in a public library, there is likely that the book has already been borrowed, so the student needs find other sources, let alone the amount of time spent on searching for the information of book the student wants. Nevertheless, it does not necessarily mean that public libraries should be closed, as there are more important considerations beneficial to people entering the libraries. Public libraries provide people with unique learning atmosphere. On the one hand, the learning environment the libraries have, allows people to read or study in a tranquil space in the absence of external disturbance, but when people read books online, there are occasionally advertisements showing up on the screen, which distracts reader’s' attention. On the other hand, libraries are not only places for borrowing books, but also places where people can attend seminars and academic lectures, through which people are offered the opportunity to communicate with each other and exchange ideas on academic issues. All these benefits cannot be provided by the Internet. In conclusion, although there are clear advantages of storing books on the Internet, the maintenance of public libraries should be supported. I think the government can reduce the number of public libraries in order to save money, but the coexistence of both types would be better.