Some people think that public health of a country can be improved if the government make laws regarding nutritious food but others think that it is the matter of personal choice and personal responsibility.

Many people believe that government should regulate nutrition to improve public wellness, while others suppose that not only can individuals choose their food but can also be responsible for this one. The following paragraphs will shed some light on this debate before drawing a logical conclusion. On the one hand, Government plays an important role in controling food hygiene and the use of chemicals, preservatives and adhesives in food items. Using unauthorised chemicals, selling low-quality food could be forbidden by government and only the government can ensure the quality of food which can protect their citizens from suffering dangerous diseases. For example, expired, low –quality or fake food can be supervised and banned because no matter how proper is diet someone may have, unhealthy food will affect their well- being. On the other hand, Also, individual’s selection and responsibility for food are of great importance for their healthy lifestyle. First, If an individual does not follow the healthy eating habit, no one can help them to improve their health, not even the government. On top of that, Constraining dietary alternatives, even if it is done with the best result, could consequently generate disappointment among the population, which would possibly lead to other public issues such as protests and demonstrations. That is the reason why the decisions of individuals greatly pursue overall health condition of a nation. In conclusion, Despite the benefits of government in controlling nutrious food, in my view, there are good grounds for rejecting the idea that people should not have their personal choice and be responsible in the matter of food. The combination of these ideas would greatly promote the public health.