Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since there is computer technology.

Our childhood memories are filled with the smell of books. Although in the modern world, ebooks are a trend, but it is not always apt to read online. In this essay, I want to put forth my views that the libraries are always needed, no matter how far the technology takes us. There are few benefits of the technology enhancements with respect to the studies. The kids, as well as adults, can read books online at home or while travelling. They can browse everything online and get their doubts resolved then and there. But, the kind of concentration anyone can have in a library, is unmatched. You can read in solace, at your own pace and no one disturbs you. One can spend hours in a library without getting bored. It is also very easy to find the book of your choice. There are various sections for different categories of the books. There is a map to guide people about the same. And there is a librarian to answer queries, if required. Sometimes, it becomes stressful also to read on a computer or iPad, etc. Eyes are strained and people get head-ache by reading online continuously. There is another advantage of having a library. It not only serves the purpose of getting readers do their studies, but also provides them with an opportunity to interact. It is kind of a meeting place for like minders. Community living is inspired inside a library. Sometimes, there are events or literary festivals organised by the sponsors. As a conclusion, I would like to mention in the light of the above facts that the expense of maintaining a library far outshines its advantages.