Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don't.

Majority people believe that sportsperson are idols for young generation. However, others are of the opinion that this may not be the case. I too agree with the latter statement. Albeit, athletes outstanding in their respective profession do inspire the milennials to follow their footsteps, however, this impact is governed by their success rate. For instance, if the player wins people start admiring him and hence aspire to become one. On the contrary, if they lose, the same people become judgmental. In this scenario, one loses interest in the respective field as a consequence of their role models failure. In addition, in a rat race to gain popularity, athletes portray a good and fair image in front of public. They might also start endorsing some products. The masses being fascinated with the same are sometimes mislead. Consequently, people ignore that this cadre of personalities are also human and can commit error. This ignorance as a bliss distracts them from their prime objective in life and they move towards pursuing their idols journey. On the other hand, athletes are considered as mentors for a huge number of population. Their achievements bring pride and glory to the nation and thereby inculcate sense of brotherhood among us. Moreover, it can become a carrier option for many job-seekers to efficiently earn their bread and butter. To recapitulate, due to the aforementioned reasons, fan following can have its own upsides and downsides. Anything beyond an optimum level is a precursor for the detriment of social well-being.