Some people think that prison sentences should not be used to deal with criminals. Education and skills training should be used instead.

Punishing offenders with a detention time has been a controversial topic for many years. Because there is a thought in the society that believe, with the help of rehabilitation programs these people can be brought into the correct path. I agree that well organized training sessions would help prisoners to develop certain skills that will be useful when they are released. Firstly, although they have made some mistakes along the way, the majority of these individuals are good in their hearts. Unfortunately, the current prison system does not provide  a fair chance for them to become better citizens. For instance, when a person first enters to a jail, it is surrounded by various types of criminals who have been locked up for several years, in a order to survive in this unpleasant environment aforementioned person has to blend in with those with bad intentions. Hence, if these detentions have better methods to get themselves busy with, then they would not end up with the bad influence of other dangerous offenders. On the other hand, the skills taught during lock-up time would be enormously valuable in their future. For example, assume that a particular person gets released from a lock-up that had given him specific knowledge about a job. Then, at least that person has an opportunity to select the best path other than continuing previous disruptive lifestyle. Moreover, the self confidence it provides is crucial to build up the lost self respect of theirs. In addition, these programs offer a numerous benefits for the society such as producing more trained work force for a nation and helping to reduce the crimes around a country. In conclusion, the prisoner education and skill training programs have a number of advantages such as building trained workforce and motivating offenders to leave the criminal activities. Therefore, such actions would generate great many of benefits for the society and for the individuals.