Some people think that prison sentences should not be used to deal with criminals. Education and skills training should be used instead.

Law offenders commonly serve a prison term as penalty for crimes committed. However, some individuals are of the opinion that jail term should no longer be served by law offenders, rather, education and skill acquisition should serve as a penalty. I disagree to a large extent that education and the acquisition of skills should become the present form of punishment, rather it should be Incorporated into their daily activities as they serve jail terms. Education and skill training should be part of the daily activities of prisoners, rather than eradicating imprisonment totally. Imprisonment rips of their rights to freedom, brings about a sense of remorse which will eventually lead to repentance over time. Addition of education and skill training to the daily routine of inmates keeps them physically busy, also builds them up mentally. Hence, they can look forward to a source of livelihood once they complete their jail term. For instance, a thief who robbed at my place of work was jailed for six months, a period in which he was remorseful and vowed never to steal again. He learnt the craft of painting, following his release, he continued in the skill and has since been financially stable. Thus, merging prison sentence, education and skill training makes a criminal a better person. Meting out education and skill acquisition only, as a means of punishment doesn't drive home the gravity of the offence committed, as such, criminals are liable to break laws repeatedly, due to freedom retained. Crime offenders are not likely to commit themselves to the process of education and skill acquisition. Hence, criminals are bound to go unpunished. As such, imprisonment is of the essence. For example, a murderer who takes a course in literature with no remorse may actually continue in the act on university grounds as he has no remorse nor has he repented. In conclusion, many individuals may be of the opinion that education and skill training should be a means to mete out punishment, rather than serving a jail term. I disagree with the notion, as a better result is achieved from merging both prison sentences, education and skill acquisition.