Some people think that prison sentences should not be used to deal with criminals. Education and skills training should be used instead.

The relative importance between imprisonment and education is a frequent topic when people discuss how to deal with criminals. Although, to some extent, I agree with the opinion that criminals should be educated and trained rather than punished in prison. I wholeheartedly believe that prison sentences play a vital role in treating those who have committed a major crime. Undoubtedly, education and skills training provide moral uplift to individuals and help them to distinguish between right and wrong. A well-known example is that adolescents who committed a minor crime, it could be too strict to put them behind the bars. While education is a perfect alternative method, it may not only rehabilitate the youngsters but also teach them skills to satisfy employment prospects, which would reduce recidivism. In addition, the government budgets spent on jail will decrease if less criminals are in prison. The money can be used in other vital parts, such as public transport system and healthcare. However, only relying on education and skills training is not enough. Without proper severe punishments like imprisonment, many people would break the law. To illustrate, thieves might think they won't go to prison so they are not afraid to conduct crimes. Or terrorists might murder more innocents as they won't be jailed for their entire life. If this occurs, it will result in endless conflicts. Therefore, this is the reason that the majority of people claim that giving prison sentences is of immerse importance for reducing crimes. To recapitulation, I advocate that education and training is beneficial for those who conducted minor crimes, but imprisonment has to be kept to handle those who threat to our society.