Some people think that paying taxes is enough to contribute to the society. Others argue that being a citizen involves more responsibilities.

Undoubtedly, citizens play important roles in the prosperity of their community. While some individuals think that paying taxes is sufficient to fulfill in the contribution of this success, I personally believe that this is not enough and other important factors, including protecting of resources, following the rules and defending their country against hazards must be considered too. Obviously, preservation of the environment is one of the most important responsibilities of citizens in each country. To avoid wasting of energy, people have to conserve it by following of some important outlines imposed by governments. As a prime example, to generate electricity for each house annually, thousands of liters of fossil fuels must be consumed, damaging the wildlife tremendously; therefore, each member of a family has to use the least amount of energy, assisting other generations to have access to a safer environment and more natural resources. The second responsibility is that people should follow the civil acts. Definitely, each citizen has to abide the rules imposed by authorities, leading fewer budgets being spent on the protection of privacy of societies. For example, had the people of Tehran, the capital city of Iran, followed the rules of the Citizenship Act, fewer funds would have been used by the government, and this money would have been consumed in other important sectors. Lastly, to protect their country, individuals must be responsible. Clearly, although people have to be involved in the monetary issues of their country, their roles in important decisions are more important too. They must be active in political elections, unpredictable invasions, or even during propagation of contaminated diseases. In particular, to protect their continent against Ebola, a dreadful virus causing thousands of mortality around the world in 2014, many Africans had felt a responsibility to defend their country against this virus. In conclusion, although paying taxes is considered as an important duty of citizens, other responsibilities must not be forgotten. I think individuals must be active persons in other parts too, including when it comes to the protection of the habitat, country, and abiding by citizens.