Some people think that paying taxes is enough to contribute to the society. Others argue that being a citizen involves more responsibilities.

People have different views about whether paying taxes is the only responsibility that citizens should fulfil. While I admit that taxes undoubtedly do contribute significantly to society, I think that other social commitments are equally important. The argument in favour of the idea that paying tax is enough may involve the recognition that people already fulfil their responsibilities through the tax system. They may take, for instance, living in a secure nation and enjoy high-quality education as granted, because it is the tax they paid that finally becomes the salary for public servants, such as polices and teachers. Additionally, some people may hold the view that they are too busy to serve the public, and it seems that paying taxes is the only way they can pay back to society. I believe such an idea would be selfish and short-sighted, as even a small good like donating clothes to people in need can make a change to the world. Moreover, I would agree with those who believe that people have to take more social responsibilities. The main reason for this view is that nations may occasionally be faced with unexpected emergency events like plague, and this is the moment that citizens should take more responsibilities on their shoulders. To take Chinese people as an example, the idea of sacrificing one’s self for a greater, national goal is deeply-embedded in Chinese culture; and thus they are willing to give up the so-called “physical freedom” and quarantine themselves at home in order to contain the spread of the virus. Without such endeavour, there is no chance to count on that the authority could tack the problem alone. In conclusion, although paying taxes are sure to be of vital importance in terms of the responsibility of citizenships, I believe that every effort should be made to serve society and build a better world.