Some people think that paying taxes is enough to contribute to the society. Others argue that being a citizen involves more responsibilities.

People have different views of whether the duty of a person is only to pay taxation. While the taxes are crucial to a country, I think that a citizen should do more things for the society. On the one hand, there are two reasons why paying taxes is a way to benefit to society. Firstly, the country relies on that money to keep functionally running. This is because the maintenance of each public section is extremely expensive. Without enough tax income, the regional government will never pass some decisions such a build a new stadium. In addition, those countries which have a higher income can return more to the society. This means better facilities and public services. For example, taxpayers can enjoy faster access to doctors because of their own contribution. On the other hand, I would say that citizens can and should do more things for their own society. This means people should pay the certain amount of taxes, as well as doing more voluntary work and join the army. With the respect to becoming a volunteer, citizens can service others who have a disability. In this way, young adults who find it hard to engage the community can have a better relationship with their neighbours. As far as enrolling into the army is concerned, it seems the most simple way to contribute to the society. In some places like Bagdad, a strong militia power certainly means regional stabilization. In conclusion, I accept that it is vital for taxpayers to take responsibility, but citizens should do more things for their society. Everyone should be involved in more public services to contribute to their own society.