Some people think that parents should be responsible for teaching children how to be good members of society. However, other people believe that school is the place for children to learn how to be good members of society.

Moving towards the 21st century, many people are nowadays expressing a deeply growing concern about the role of parents and school in children’s development. Some hold firmly to their belief that parents play a vital role in educating children on how to be useful members of society. However, others argue convincingly that schools should take the responsibility of teaching children how to be useful members of society. Therefore, some arguments both for and against this issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are two main points for people to defend the former argument that parents have a significant contribution to the development of children in society. First of all, it is a well-documented fact that parents are considered to be the first teacher for their kids. Thus they have significant influences on the development of children. The most obvious example to prove is that parents should teach children the correct moral behaviors, such as how to show their respect to older people or how to communicate with others effectively. Furthermore, there is no doubt that children can learn from what their parents do, so they can learn a valuable lesson that “they get what they pay for”. For instance, parents should follow traffic rules and save the environment by reducing the use of plastic bags. On the other hand, there are two primary pieces of evidence for people to support the latter argument that school is the place for children to learn how to be useful members of society. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted that the role of educating is to prepare the contemporary world for children so that schools should not only teach academic subjects but also provide them with soft skills. A clear example is found to prove is that communication, problem-solving and teamwork skills are well-known to be the three most essential skills for the kids to be familiar with real contexts in their future life. Equally important, there is no denying that children need to try their best to get high academic achievements, so they should be aware of the crucial lesson from what they perform with their studies in their lecture. This issue is supported by the fact that schools should be building a measure to monitor the children’s attempts over time. All things considered, it is my firm belief that parents and school contribute significantly to the development of children in their future. Accordingly, I strongly recommend that governments should enhance people’s awareness in terms of the crucial role of school and parents in children’s life. If this recommendation is carried out, the comprehensive developments of our future generations will be ensured.