Some people think that parents should be responsible for teaching children how to be good members of society. However, other people believe that school is the place for children to learn how to be good members of society.

Many people believe that the responsibility of a child to learn good manners come from the home, one's own parents; however, there are others who think that it should be done in schools. I believe that the father and the mother are the one to teach their child to be responsible members of the society. In this essay, I will discuss both the sides and assert my view. To be a good citizen of a country, the learning should be started at home; a place where elders, parents and people who have a better understanding of the society live together. The parents can teach children from the early days of their life, how to respect elders, they can do this by showing examples. For instance, when a grandparent or any elder of the family comes to visit, the father and the mother should always speak politely and with respect, by seeing this the kid would understand that always respect elders and talk politely to them. Hence, these small demonstration will always leave a foot-print in a young ones mind. Whereas, many others argue that a school should make someone to learn, how to become a good person. It can teach its students the good manners, social responsibilities in its curriculum. For example, there are subjects like moral science in some primary schools. Pupils learn these subjects for getting marks and the authorities are unaware if the pupils are following these things learnt from the books, in their daily life. To put it in a nutshell, for being a good individual in a society, the foundation of a youngster should be laid by the parents. The teachers can teach the students, the good manners, but the parents are the one to show them by being an example themselves.