Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to a higher position.

Whether seniority is the only criterion of promotion has always been a controversial issue. While the length of service should undoubtedly be considered, I believe there are still other factors, with performance being the most important. Companies will certainly benefit tremendously from promoting senior workers. Those people who have been serving for a number of years would gain a sense of loyalty if they got promoted. They will be able to adapt themselves better to the new positions, provide training for new employees and become valuable assets of the company. By contrast, if they were not promoted after years of service, they would probably resign and turn to competitor’s for higher salary and positions. In this case, the company would inevitably suffer from loss of client and business from the turnover. Nevertheless, I believe performance is just as important as the length of service when it comes to promotion eligibility. Candidates with high performance level often own extensive relevant experience and technical skills, which are fundamental to the survival and sustainability of a company in the long run. Accordingly, offering those candidates with higher positions will inarguably benefit the company in terms of boosting the overall employee morale—motivating those junior and new employees to achieve higher performance in their current positions. For example, in the highly competitive computer engineering industry, a performance-driven promotion rewards and elevates those lower-ranking employees who are capable of delivering extraordinary innovations. In conclusion, the length of service should not be the only criterion when a company is implementing a promotion. It would be wise if performance were also taken into account.