Nowdays museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foreign tourists instead of locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get local to visit museums and historical sites more?

The host to sports events has become a fierce competition among some countries in recent years. Many people believe that major international sports competitions are not useful for host countries. I completely disagree with this idea, and I believe that hosting big sports events come with some advantages, especially economic and new facilities. First of all, a country that hosts a major sports event, can financially benefit from the events. Sport-lovers, who visit the host country, spend a large sum of money on accommodation, food, and shopping, etc. As a result of these visits, host countries relatively improve their economy in the short run. Moreover, foreign sponsorships contribute notably the budget of the country, and these sponsorships result in possibly new investments. For example, Volkswagen, which is a major car company, and the main sponsor of the Euro Cup, invested in Turkey, establishing a car factory after the Euro Cup, which Turkey hosted. Therefore, it is clear that the revenue of international sports events should not be ignored in favor of host countries. Secondly, major sports events lead to be built new sports facilities. These facilities can serve the citizens of the host country after the competitions. Furthermore, the host countries have to modernize their transportation system, which is an important requirement, if they want to be accepted the events to host, That’s, the big sports events guarantee a state-of-the-art transportation system for the people of that country. For instance, Turkey had to invest in the railway network across the country and spent money on new routes and high-speed trains in 2012 so that the country can have the opportunity to host major sports events. Hence, hosting a big sport competition leads to various infrastructure developments. To conclude, many countries desire to host international sports events. But, is hosting a sports competition is worthwhile? Many people say that the result of this desire would not be beneficial for the host country. However, I fully agree with the opposite idea that international organizations, including sports events, have a positive impact on the host country in terms of its economic advantages as well as the construction of new facilities.