Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

In recent times, there have been increased awareness of environmental challenges in many countries. It is often argued that a significant measure to address problems in the environment is to raise the price of oil and gas use by automobiles. I support this notion because it will help reduce both traffic congestion on the roads as well as air and noise pollution. Firstly, a rise in the price of fuel often result in a corresponding decline in traffic on the roads. High gasoline price makes it costlier to maintain cars. Thus, people would choose to use the public transportation system such as trains, ferries and metropolitan buses than personal vechicles. As a consequence, there will be less pressure on the roads, which will limit calls for road expansions that often destroy the ecosystem. If there were no rise in the cost of gasoline for example, there would have been increased agitations for new roads, due to traffic jams with its negative environmental impacts. Secondly, an important way to reduce noise and air pollution is to make fuel more expensive. This will reduce exhaust and noise because of the reduced volume of cars. Rather than buying expensive fuel, people will seek for sustainable means of transporting themselves. For instance, means such as electric cars and bicycles that produce little undesirable effects on the environment. As a result, there will be a reduction in the deleterious consequences of climate change. In conclusion, when the cost of fuel for automobiles is increased, there will be reduction in road congestion and pollution, which will go a long way in solving environmental problems. This will ensure a suitable earth conditions for the future generation.