Smacking children is the best form of discipline. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Physical form of punishment has been used to instil discipline since age old times. Some people believe that discipline to children can only be taught by smacking them. This essay will argue why smacking is certainly not the best form of punishment to discipline children. Some parents believe that smacking their children is very effective to handle their tantrums. It is observed that using physical force leads to an immediate change in the child’s behaviour. Some mischievous and stubborn children do not get disciplined when the parents make them understand something and the parents have to finally resort to smacking to teach them discipline. For example, if a child has been continuously found bullying others at school and is not ready understand despite multiple warnings, the parents might have to finally turn to using physical force to discipline their child. Such instances make some parents believe that smacking children is the best way to reinforce good behaviour. Despite it being a tried & tested method, inflicting physical pain on children can turn out to be dangerous and is completely preposterous. When children are treated violently, it can negatively affect them mentally and they may also turn violent eventually. It is sometimes observed that children cut themselves off from their social circle on being treated with brutal force. For instance, a child might completely lose self-confidence if they are being smacked regularly. This will lead them to act timidly in front of the world and they may not be able to realise dreams & potential. All in all, the idea of using physical force to teach discipline is not in the best interest of the children. This essay argued how smacking can have a negative mental impact on children although some parents still use this method. In my opinion, using corporal punishment in completely unjustified to discipline children and it will adversely affect their personality.