Some people think that music plays an important role in society. Others thinks it is simply a form of entertainment.

It is often argued whether music has a crucial place in society or if it is only about entertainment. I think music is important because it gives us a hint of the culture and history of a particular society. I will discuss both sides throughout this essay. Music has existed for quite a long time in almost all cultures. Since the tools and gadgets vary from region to region, musical instruments also show diversity depending on the availability of materials to make music in that specific place. For this reason, we can learn many crucial details about the culture and history of former nations by looking through their way of making music. For example, Folk music has existed in many countries but has different rhythms and melodies inside of it based upon the different instruments, inspiration from historical events, emotions and life experiences. On the other hand, some people argue that music has no other role than simple enjoyment. Nowadays, many different countries follow the same global trends, therefore their way of making music is also similar. Concerts, shows, and musicals give people a great number of options, however, in terms of representing cultures, they are extremely weak. For example, many people go out to bars and pubs to get relaxed and be entertained. These places offer their customers live music with local and sometimes nation-wide bands and singers who only perform popular and trendy songs. For this reason, they believe music is currently only for entertainment. To conclude, although in recent years music is being mainly produced for entertainment due to global trends and expressions, I believe music is tremendously important since it allows us to understand former nations’ histories and cultures.